Album Cover


   1. Shapechanger

2. Lady Noir

3. Hunter

4. Ignorance

5. The CattleLyst

6. Tarot

7. Amburgris

8. Honor

9. Clockwork soldier

10. Magga

11. Memorial


Indemnified has grown up. I met the band a while back and felt that there was potential and that this band could have something with a little work. Clockwork Soldier is the culmination of their hard work.

I was approached by the band to do  a pre-release review and was honored to do so. Here is my take on Clockwork Soldier.

The CD overall is recorded well and the production value is high (recorded at Third Eye Studios, great work guys). This CD can hold its own with sound quality. Professionally packaged, with quality artwork, it does not have the look of some indie releases.

Let’s get into the music. The songs are well written and carry a groove that suits the flow of the CD. I can hear elements of other bands like White Zombie, Deftones, The Cure, System Of A Down, and Tool. They pull this off without “ripping off” the licks of said bands, if you listen to the CD you will hear what I mean.

“Shapechanger” has to be the standout track on the record for me. It grabs hold  and burrows into your brain where it runs around in there and has you humming it throughout the day. I put together a a little video of pics over the song for you to hear what I mean, check it out here:

     Hunter S. Thompson is one of my favorite authors and the first time I saw Indemnified I was thrilled to see them pay homage to him with their song “Hunter”. They have included it on Clockwork Soldier much to my delight. If you are not familiar with the works of Hunter S. Thompson you should do yourself a favor and check out some, you’ll appreciate the song a little more when you do.

“Honor”, “Clockwork Soldier”, “Magga”, and “Memorial” combined tell a tale of the horrors and tragedies of war. Poignant and touching these songs achieve the intended effect.

“Lady Noir”, “The CattleLyst”, “Tarot”, and “Amburgris” do a nice job of carrying the vibe of the CD. It flows is the best way for me to put it. I find some new elements with each listen. What’s cool about this CD is you can put it on, press play, enjoy, and then realize it’s over and you have to press play again.    Overall a solid CD from a band I hope to hear a lot more from in the future. Sold Thumbs up from the Hellion!

Indemnified PP 2 bw

Guitar: Travis Grob
Bass: Ray Buckman
Drums: Don Ivie
Vocals: West Gallowglass



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s